About Construction Projects in Chula Vista, CA
Chula Vista has a strong local economy, with high median incomes and a robust projected job growth rate. This means the time to start building in Chula Vista is now. Here are a few regulations to follow if you plan on building in Chula Vista.
Most projects in Chula Vista require a permit. You will need a permit if the work changes the use of the property or adds a new structure. This includes changes on the inside of the building.
The city offers a wide range of permit types, from carport permits to fencing permits. All of these permits require you to fill out an application, provide three copies of your site plan, and two copies of your construction plans.
This information should all be sent to the Building Division. You can call them at 619-691-5272. When you submit your application, you’ll also need to pay a plan check fee and a permit fee. Fees vary depending on the project. However, for general building fees, prices start at $192 and go up to $312.
Submitting a permit application does not mean instant approval, of course. The city takes the time to view each application and make sure it complies with the city, state, and federal codes. It also checks for height requirements, property line setbacks, and zoning restrictions. If the plans are for an addition, you’ll need to hire a California engineer or architect to check them.
If the city finds any errors, you’ll have to resubmit corrected paperwork. The process takes anywhere from one to 21 days if you have everything right the first time.
Contractor Licensing Requirements
Chula Vista requires that the Contractors State License Board (CSLB) certifies all contractors. This means that you will have to pass two exams: one on law and business, and another on your trade. You also need four years of experience in the field. Finally, you need to pay a $300 application fee as well as a $180 initial license fee. After you get licensed, you need to pay a $360 renewal fee every two years.
Once you are a certified contractor in the state of California, you’ll also need a business license specifically for Chula Vista. Currently, it costs $52.50 a year plus $6.50 per employee to run a business within city limits.
While the state of California does not specifically require contractors to have liability insurance, it isn’t a bad idea. This kind of insurance protects you and the property owners in case of damage. Most small businesses should get between $500,000 and $1 million of coverage, but builders should look into getting more because they are higher-risk.
The CSLB does require you to have a surety bond of $15,000 to protect consumers.
Best Equipment to Use
Chula Vista has a very particular type of soil that has good drainage but still a strong risk of erosion. You will have to pick your equipment carefully to work with the soil, whether it’s boom lifts, scissor lifts, forklifts, or manlifts.
By following these requirements, you will be on your way to helping Chula Vista customers and creating a successful contractor business.