There was a problem while loading the Express Book module - please try again later.
All cities have certain things they require for construction. You might even need a permit to add on to a house or building, build a deck, or put in a fence. In Elk Grove, California, contractors need to know what they have to get before starting the job.
You need a permit from City Hall for any new construction project. Some upgrades require permits, too. Call 916-478-2235 to hear more information from the Building Division. This line will tell contractors what projects need permits. Before you turn in paperwork for a permit, make sure your plans meet building codes. You can read about Elk Grove building codes on the City of Elk Grove website.
Contractors also need inspections to get permits. After the inspector checks your plans, you can apply for a permit. Earlier this year, the city raised the permit fees. The city also has a simple permit application option. With this option, contractors can get permits for small projects the same day. The same-day permit option is for buildings that are 2,500 feet or less.
When you turn in your application for a permit, you need to turn in a few other items:
If you do work without a permit, you could be fined. The fine is two times the permit fee plus the fee you should have paid.
You can use the Elk Grove website to schedule an inspection. The site also has a place to check the status of your inspection. If you don’t want to use the website, you can also call to schedule. The inspector will look at your building plans. These plans have to meet local and state codes for safety. In the final inspection, the inspector looks at other systems. These systems include gas, electrical, plumbing, and HVAC. They will also look at the structure.
Contractors can get licenses from the Contractors State License Board. This board gives licenses to any contractors working in California. If you want to work in Elk Grove, you need a license. The board provides licenses in 44 different categories. There are nearly 300,000 contractors with licenses in California. You will have to pass two tests: law and business, and then trade. If you apply for a Limited Specialty license, you don’t have to take the trade test.
As a contractor, you need insurance for your business. This coverage protects your employees and the property. The minimum insurance amount is $2,000,000 aggregate. You will have to show proof of insurance when you file for a permit.
With the right insurance and permits, your company can handle many jobs. If you’re looking for equipment, rental options are available. You can rent aerial equipment like boom lifts, scissor lifts, forklifts, and manlifts.