About Construction Projects in Huntington Beach, CA
Huntington Beach, California, is a great place to work as a contractor. There is an expected job growth of 40.23 percent in the next ten years. Huntington Beach requires contractors to get building permits and to license. To avoid fines, follow this list of rules for getting a permit.
Most building projects do require a permit. If you’re in doubt, it’s best to contact the Planning Division at 714-536-5271 to ask if your project needs a permit.
There are only two types of people who can apply for permits — a California-licensed contractor or the property owner. Contractors need to have a city business license, their state license, and proof of workers’ compensation insurance before the city will issue them a permit.
The city requires that plans are on 11-inch by 17-inch paper, drawn to scale and show the location. You’ll need to include three sets of architectural and structural plans for review. These plans must include:
- A site plan showing existing and new work
- Three sets of wet signed drawings
- Engineer’s name and license number
- Structural calculations
- Soil report
- Energy calculations
- Foundation plan
- Floor plans
- Roof framing plan
- Construction and demolition debris re-use and recycling application
- Construction and demolition debris waste diversion worksheet
The cost for a permit varies depending on the size of the project. For small jobs under $500, the inspection fee is $55. However, for large projects between $50,001 and $100,000, that fee jumps to $775 for the first $50,000 plus $8.80 for each additional $1,000.
Simple projects can get an over-the-counter plan review in 10 to 15 minutes. However, most projects will take an overnight plan review and may take 20 days for approval. Call the Building and Safety Department for more info at 714-536-5241.
Necessary Building Licenses
As noted, you have to be a state-licensed contractor to get a permit. In the state of California, this means submitting a license renewal every two years. If you do this on time, your fee will be $360. However, if you are late with your renewal, the fee is $540.
Finally, you’ll need a Huntington Beach business license. To apply, you’ll need to provide the city with your contractor’s license number and classification, as well as other personal information. Costs for getting a license can vary, so check with the Finance Department office at 714-536-5630 for more info.
In addition to paying a fee, contractors need to have workers’ compensation insurance if they have any employees working for them. The coverage must be continuous; otherwise, your license may be suspended.
Contractors also need to have a contractor’s bond. This bond is a safeguard for customers in case their construction is defective. The minimum bond amount is $15,000, which must be written by a surety company.
Best Equipment to Use
Once you’ve got a permit and a license, make sure you have the right equipment for the job. Renting aerial lifts like boom lifts, scissor lifts, forklifts, and manlifts can help your project go more smoothly than ever. Since the Huntington Beach area is prone to erosion and ground-shaking, you’ll want reliable equipment.
With these tools in your arsenal, you’ll have no trouble thriving as a contractor in Huntington Beach.