About Construction Projects in Ventura, CA
Before starting any building work in Ventura, California, make sure you know the laws that apply to construction work in the “City of San Buenaventura”. You need to be familiar with the insurance, permit, inspection, and licensing rules. Read on to learn more about building in Ventura.
The Building and Safety Division of Ventura County sets the laws for building work in Ventura. One of those laws asks you to apply for a building permit for many types of construction projects. Before starting your project, check if you need a permit by calling 805-654-2771.
Applying for a permit is a complex process. You need to submit several documents with your application, including:
- Zoning clearance from the Planning Department.
- Fire prevention clearance.
- Flood hazard review.
- Construction plans and details.
In addition to applying for a permit, you must pay a fee for each permit. In Ventura, the fee for a single building permit is $37.60. If your project includes other work that needs a permit, such as building work andÊelectrical work, you need to add on $19 for each extra permit type. Extra charges apply that increase the cost of a permit. The extra fees for permits depend on the value of the proposed work.
Any building project that needs a permit also needs an inspection when the work is done. Inspections check that completed work matches the project plan. An inspection also checks the safety of a structure.
For next business day inspections, book an appointment by 4 p.m. the previous day. The hours for inspections are Monday to Friday from 8.30 a.m. to 3.30 p.m. The following fees apply to inspections in Ventura:
- $103.56 per hour with a minimum inspection time of 30 minutes.
- $155.34 per hour outside of normal working hours with a minimum inspection time of four hours.
- $99.30 for re-inspections.
To work as a contractor in California, you must get a license from the California State Licensing Board. Becoming a licensed contractor in the state involves passing an exam. You also need a City Business License to work as a contractor in Ventura.
Contractor Insurance Requirements
You must pay a contractor bond or cash deposit of $15,000 before you get your contractor license. Contractors in California also need to show evidence of workers’ compensation in the form of a Certificate of Workers’ Compensation Insurance. Having a workers’ compensation policy is required in order to get a license in California.
Construction Equipment Rental in Ventura, California
Renting the tools you need for your building project is a good idea. Renting instead of buying tools lets you use the latest tools on the market without having to pay a high price. You can rent aerial equipment such as boom lifts, forklifts, scissor lifts, and manlifts.
Don’t start any building work in Ventura if you don’t hold the right license and workers’ compensation insurance. Be sure you’re prepared for your next project in Ventura.