There was a problem while loading the Express Book module - please try again later.
Wilmington is a picturesque coastal city along the Cape Fear River. If you work in Wilmington, North Carolina, you have to follow the rules. Contractors must get permits before working on many jobs. Permits come from New Hanover County.
Permits are required for most types of construction work done in Wilmington. Work that needs a permit includes:
Contractors turn in permit applications to New Hanover County. All permits come through the county building department.
There are ten types of permits given to contractors working in Wilmington:
Zoning applications relate to the purpose and use of land. The zoning application options are:
New Hanover County handles scheduling of building inspections. Contractors schedule inspections through the GovNow online system. During the building inspection, all systems must be easy to see. Systems include:
Schedule the inspection before any walls are closed. You can schedule an inspection within five working days. The inspector will make sure that plans meet local building codes.
The GovNow system also allows contractors to track the status. You can check both permit applications and inspection request. You can also check if your permit has been approved.
You need a general contractor license for jobs over $30,000. No one can work on a project that is over that value in North Carolina. All electrical, HVAC, and plumbing projects require separate contractor licenses. Licenses are given by the North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors. Laws apply to work done in the state of North Carolina.
You must pass an online exam to get a general contractor license. The exam has 90 questions. You must finish in the 200-minute time limit. The exam fee is $70.
The license is split into three types:
The liability coverage limits depend on the type of contractor license. Limited contractor licensees must hold at least $17,000 over the total liabilities. The intermediate license has a minimum of $75,000. The unlimited license’s minimum is $150,000. You must show proof of insurance coverage. You can’t get a contractor license in North Carolina without proof.
Follow the building rules in Wilmington to avoid legal problems and fines. If you need extra equipment to handle certain jobs, think about renting the items. Safe aerial equipment can protect your workers. This is important when working on tall buildings or upper levels. You might need forklifts, boom lifts, scissor lifts, and manlifts. Renting these items can help your business save money. You might also be able to take on more work with the right tools.