About Construction Projects in Murfreesboro, TN
Murfreesboro, Tennessee is the state’s fastest growing city. It is less than forty miles south of Nashville. Builders are busy keeping up with housing demand as more people move in. If you are a contractor working on new buildings or remodels in Murfreesboro, your company needs permits and licenses.
Tennessee’s permit and license system have a few steps. State and county agencies defer to local building enforcement. Building in Murfreesboro must be approved at the city level. You need permission from Rutherford County before starting building projects outside city limits.
Home building applications are covered by the Request for Building Permit – One and Two Family Dwellings New Construction form. It is found online. This is the application to submit when building a single-family or two-family home. It is also used when building multiple townhouses with separate entrances. After you fill it out, fax it to the City of Murfreesboro Building and Codes Department at (615) 217-3016. It can also be emailed to [email protected]
Fees for application are based on the size of the building. Expect to pay between $250 and $890. Once your application is paid and reviewed, a building permit is issued. Separate permits are required for electrical, plumbing, and HVAC work being done on the property.
If you are building a Murfreesboro apartment or commercial building with more than one story, you’ll need a special type of permit. The review process is different from single-family homes. Complete an Application for Building Permit – Commercial and Apartments form to get started. Plans examiners will review your case and guide you through the proper steps for approval.
The city’s Addition/Remodel Permit Application is for making improvements to existing buildings. Another type of application is required when your project includes a fence, pool, or storage facility. Take your questions and concerns to the Building and Codes Department, 111 West Vine Street, second floor. You can also call (615) 893-3750 for help.
In addition to getting a permit for each job, contractors must also meet state licensing requirements. Under Tennessee law, a building contractor may not bid on a job worth more than twenty-five thousand dollars without a license. The rule applies to general contractors who negotiate directly with clients. It usually takes four to six weeks to get a contractor’s license.
Bonding and Insurance
A contractor seeking a license must first buy a surety bond worth at least ten-thousand dollars from an approved Tennessee provider. The bond serves as a cash deposit in case problems come up. They must also offer proof of insurance. Coverage should include workers’ compensation insurance and a general liability policy worth $500,000 to $1,000,000.
Best Equipment to Use
Tennessee’s firm clay soil is a stable base for using boom lifts, scissor lifts, manlifts, and other equipment. To stay on schedule, rent these machines and job site forklifts as early as possible.
You need permits to build new homes or remodel existing Murfreesboro buildings. For the best results, get your application in on time and order equipment in advance.