There was a problem while loading the Express Book module - please try again later.
Miramar, Florida, is a popular suburb of Miami with lots of new developments. The four-acre Miramar Regional Park Amphitheater celebrated its grand opening on July 4th with live music and fireworks, and the nearby American Dream Miami project will contain a theme park, a mall, and office space. A free shuttle will take Miramar residents to the mall. Before your business starts participating in Miramar’s growth, get all the licenses, insurance, permits, inspections, and equipment you need to be successful.
Here are some of the most common licenses in Florida:
To get a license, you’ll need four years of experience. Military veterans can use up to three years of their military experience for this requirement. You must also provide a credit report and financial statements. The minimum net worth is $2,500 to $20,000 depending on the type of license. You’ll also need to take a business and finance exam and a trade exam. During the two years before you renew your license, you must take 14 hours of continuing education courses. Miramar doesn’t add any extra requirements.
General and building contractors in Miramar, and the rest of Florida must have liability insurance. The minimum is $300,000 for bodily injury and $50,000 for property damage. Other contractors need $100,000 for bodily injury and $25,000 for property damage. Post your insurance certificate on site after you get it from your carrier.
In Miramar, you’ll need a permit for most HVAC, electrical, plumbing, and structural work. If you start your project without a permit or before the permit is issued, you’ll have to pay double the normal fee and a $200 fine. Call the Miramar Building Division at 954-602-3200 for more information and help to apply for permits. They’re open Monday through Thursday from 7 am to 6 pm.
If you request an inspection before 3 pm, the inspector will arrive the next day. Contact the Building Division on the day of the inspection from 7-8 am for an appointment time. Someone must be at the site with your permit card and approved plans, and an OSHA-approved ladder should be ready for roofing inspections. If the inspector arrives and no one is there, or the site isn’t ready, you’ll have to pay a reinspection fee. There’s also a $100 fine if the property has a pool without a safety fence.
The right equipment is essential for finishing your project on time with no unexpected problems or costs. A scissor lift, a manlift, or a boom lift can help workers reach tall windows, walls, ceilings, or roofs, and one or more forklifts will make moving building materials much easier. Rent this equipment to save money and avoid hassles like maintenance and storage.
Before you start a project, make sure your business is ready with all the licenses, insurance, permits, inspections, and equipment it needs. Being prepared will help you avoid fines and attract potential clients and investors.