About Construction Projects in Wichita Falls, TX
Wichita Falls is a beautiful city located near the Sheppard Air Force Base. Anyone doing construction work in Wichita Falls, Texas, has to follow the rules. If you work without a permit, you could face a fine. Contractors have to follow local and state building codes. Only licensed contractors can work in Wichita Falls.
All permits are given by the City of Wichita Falls. There are six kinds of permits available:
- Commercial electrical
- Residential electrical
When you turn in an application, you must give all needed documents. These include building plans and the names of engineers and general contractors working on the job. The fee to get a permit is $0.28 per square foot for new buildings and additions. The fee also includes $20 for having it issued. Before you get a permit, you can submit your plan online for review. This electronic plan review is called ePlanCheck. During the review, you will get updates and notes on your design.
After you turn in your building plan online, you will need an inspection. Inspectors look at construction to make sure it meets building codes. They also approve permit applications. Many buildings have at least 10 inspections before people can move in. Make sure to follow the rules when turning in your plans. If you don’t put files in the right format, you could face delays.
When you turn in a permit application, you have to include a sworn affidavit. All work done on the job must be managed by a licensed contractor. The contractor will also list the names of those who will work on the job. If the people working on the job changes, you must file a new affidavit with the Building and Code Administration Division.
Contractor Liability Coverage
A contractor working in Wichita Falls must hold insurance. The state of Texas sets the required minimum amounts of coverage. Contractor liability insurance protects the business and property owners. The policy covers property damage and injury to those working on the job. Commercial contractors must hold $500,000 in single limit coverage per occurrence. When working on child care, housing, or elder care facilities, the minimum goes up to $1,000,000. All contractors must also have workers’ compensation insurance for their employees.
When you apply for a contractor license in Wichita Falls, you have to show proof of insurance. Without enough coverage, you won’t be able to get a contractor license. All permits require sworn affidavits that licensed contractors will handle the work. Without a valid contractor license, you won’t be able to work in Wichita Falls.
Construction Rental Equipment in Wichita Falls, Texas
After getting a building permit, a contractor can start working on the job. You might find that you don’t have the equipment needed to handle the work. Construction equipment rentals make it easier to take on more work. You might need aerial equipment, such as manlifts, boom lifts, forklifts, and scissor lifts, to work on higher levels of buildings.